icebreaker 017

Have you ever been rejected by a crush?

Yes, though I don’t think it was just a crush, it was more of a severe or deep (very) deep infatuation. I was already thinking waay too far ahead into things that I was not able to see that I was just not who he was looking for. Whatever kind of person that was, I’d never know now.

When was the last time you wrote a letter to someone on paper?

I don’t really remember, maybe it was way back in college. Or maybe after that. I have a slight memory of writing to my ex-girlfriend back then. But we also had phones and I was working in a paperless office then too, so I guess those must have been emails or something, or text messages.

I used to keep a pen pal in college, some guy I met online, a Filipino based in the US. We had a good run I suppose, a couple of years. He was fond of writing me letters and poems and essays and stories in Filipino, and I could say I was fond of him enough not to criticize his Amboy accent on paper. I remember he’s a nurse now, but I am not sure if he still remembers me though. I think I can still dig up a few of his letters to me, if I try hard.

Wear a bath robe?

Yes, if I had my way, I’d wear one everyday when at home. Comfy and always ready for fun. Haha.

Who was your high school crush?

These questions never fail to surprise me. Sheila Marie Juan. Now Juan-Catillo. Almost everybody I know knows that.

Do you like the type of music your parents listen to?

I remember a few Sunday mornings waking up to the radio on, with my mom doing the laundry across the hall. I think I must have heard her sing a few times. Old songs maybe 50’s or 60’s I’m not really sure. Good days.

Do your parents like the type of music you listen to?

I don’t know if they know what kind of music I listen to. They haven’t even heard me sing, as far as I can remember.

What’s the best route to your heart?

Food. Cake. Sweet things. Sex. ALL of the above.

Make a 5 song playlist that sums you up as a person.

This is hard. Maybe currently, as of course, the music I listen to does change depending on my mood.

  1. All My Friends by Snakehips
  2. Wait for It by Lin-Manuel Miranda, from the musical Hamilton
  3. One Dance by Drake
  4. Standing in the Way of Control by The Gossip
  5. Habits (Stay High) by Tove Lo

What was your first job?

Would an internship count? I did an internship with a very small port-side publication, where I did a few marketing materials and branding and identity. After that, I worked as an intern at a PR firm, and helped create the campaign for the first Filipino team to climb Mount Everest, apart form local election campaign for a provincial governor. Those were my first twp paying jobs. I eventually worked for customer service for a dog food company before moving into the BPO industry.

Have you kissed someone whose name starts with a ‘J’?

Yes. My current partner, Jerome.

Leave a Reply

