gadget whore

I think I just became a gadget whore.

I am not too big on the techie stuff really, but I do follow a lot of news on consumer technology. Before I go in and expound, here are the gadgets that I have right now:

Amazon Kindle Paperwhite – I got this via a deal online, this version is with the ads or “special offers”. It comes with an endless of supply of Kindle ebooks and you can also request authors or titles if you wish so why not?

LG Nexus 4 – Got this online as well, at a deep discount. It’s cool, matches the snappiness and screen quality of an iPhone 5. The stock Android experience is really something, although I do miss some of the proprietary apps by Samsung.  Oh well, Key Lime Pie 5.0 baby!

Samsung Chromebook Series 3 (late 2012) – The MacBook clone. I couldn’t afford one so I got a Chromebook instead. I think it’s more or less perfect for my casual needs although its true mettle would be tested once I lose this laptop from the office. This will be an exercise in living in the cloud but things are looking nice so far.

Barnes and Noble Nook Simple Touch – Honestly, I just bought this second-hand on a whim online. I found that reading through my Note was nice although it did strain my eyes. But then again, with no backlight, I hated having to get up and turn off the lights whenever I was done reading. Solution: Paperwhite. (I gave this to my little brother a week ago).

Samsung ST30 Digital Camera – This one gets to travel a lot but not so much use. It has even gone to India, through a friend once, but not me. Still, I think it’s a better alternative to lugging around an expensive DSLR. I can even bring it to wait deep water in the beach and not have to worry about it too much.

Sony B Series MP3 Walkman – My reliable gym buddy. It comes with almost 4GB of last last year’s songs but then again, I’m too lazy to have them updated.

MSI Wind U123 Netbook – I got this around the same time as my brother and my sister-in-law’s brother, but had not too much use of it, really, then or now. Mostly to browse the net, a few times for design shit and that was about it. I think about 20% of this blog was borne out of it with Q10 and handy Google Drive. So I got a Chromebook instead and further cemented my relationship with Google.

I know it’s not really much, but I think this obsession with gadgets is a bit uncharacteristic of me. Looking at my current list, it doesn’t seem that it’s an addiction but if you judge by the history if gadgets I have had, it’s quite some list (not in chronological order).

Apple iPhone5 – Yes, sometime a month or two ago, I had an iPhone. The latest one. Say that I was kinda testing the waters with the Apple ecosystem. I found it a great phone, solid build and good and snappy OS. But I missed my widgets from my Galaxy Note, hell, just Android in general. So I gave it up and got the Nexus 4.

Samsung Galaxy Note 1 – I had this sold to my sister in law. I loved it the first time I got it, but the form factor I loved just was too freakin big for my pockets. It just came to a point that it was too much of a hassle to carry around.

BlackBerry Curve 8530 – My first forray into BlackBerry OS. I must say, once you get into BBM, it becomes a necessity, especiallyf if you have a lot of friends or family on BBM. Which I don’t, not really. And it does have a lot of hardware issues. It may look solidly built and sturday, but I have a feeling that it does come with a definite lifespan of about 1.5 years.

BlackBerry Bold 9700, Curve 9360 – These I got from the office. The first was a hand-me-down from my previous boss which I ended up losing as it was stolen from my bag one day walking home after paying my brother’s plane tickets home from Korea. The other newer unit was a replacement one. Come to think of it, I should have gone all out and gotten the Bold Touch 9900 instead, had I known that I was going to be cut from work anyway.

Nokia E71, Nokia 3500, Nokia 9300, Nokia 3120, Nokia 5210, Nokia 3210, Nokia 8250 – I think all Filipinos would have had a Nokia device or two, while I am just stunned that while I was writing this post, I actually gone through eight of them. The first phone I got with my own saved up money was a Nokia, and since then, I never had my folks get me a cellphone. I always found ways to trade up or otherwise kill my devices, and going second-hand was never not an option. Cheap (now, but not really then) and quite sturdy.

Sony Ericsson W550 – I absolutely loved this phone, only to have it left in a can somewhere in Roxas Boulevard. It had a good stereo, cool games (at that time) and was very durable. I brought this to the beach one night and played Bonnie Bailey’s Ever After while watching glow in the dark fish spawn in the moonlight. Good times.

I don’t know why I had started this post in the first place. But The next thing for me right now is to probably get a decent tablet. Nexus 10 seems like a good choice, although I am banking on a new Google device to come out of I/O 2013 so this will definitely be a test of my patience.

Leave a Reply

