my mega mixtape

A mixtape or mixed tape is a compilation of songs recorded in a
specific order, traditionally onto a compact audio cassette.
A mixtape, which usually reflects the musical tastes of its compiler,
can range from a casually selected list of favorite songs, to a
conceptual mix of songs linked by a theme or mood, to a highly
personal statement tailored to the tape’s intended recipient. Essayist
Geoffrey O’Brien has called the personal mixtape “the most widely
practiced American art form”,[1] and many mixtape enthusiasts believe
that by carefully selecting and ordering the tracks in a mix, an
artistic statement can be created that is greater than the sum of its
individual songs, much as an album of pop music in the post-Beatles
era can be considered as something more than a collection of singles.
With the advent of affordable, consumer-level digital audio, creating
and distributing mixes in the form of compact disc or MP3 playlists
has become the contemporary method of choice, but the term mixtape is
still commonly used, even for mixes in different media (CD, MP3,
MiniDisc, audio cassette 8 track, etc.). Video mixtapes have emerged
as well.

(Excerpt from Wikipedia. Well, of course, it’s not the most credible
source out there, nothing really ever is on the interwebs, really, but
hey, it’s not rocket science.)

* * * * *
I used to collect cassette tapes before, I remember the very first one
that I got was the Talk On Corners album by The Corrs. I pretty much
stuck to the popular stuff at that time, a handful of boybands and pop
princesses and then about one or two rock bands.
I used to love playing them over and over on our old rickety component
(my brother was so proud of that hunk of junk, because he said it had
X-Bass, which was all the rage at that time, even now.); spending days
alone in the house with the volume to full blast. Fortunately for our
house, we were at the far corner of the compound and the walls were
made of concrete so you wouldn’t notice that much noise from the
outside unless one of the doors or windows were open. That big black
box eventually died out, the tape deck, I mean, but we still keep it
for the radio though.
When I got off college, I donated almost all of them tapes to our
school organization. I kept a few of them, those that I really like. I
think I eventually lost them in the garbage that was in our house.
That was around the year that CDs were getting a lot of steam as media
of choice, so I never knew what happened to them thereafter. I don’t
think any of the other students would have opted to use them anymore.

* * * * *
Now I “collect” CDs. Not really collect since I just buy those artists
who I really really really like (yes, three “really”s), or otherwise
those who I cannot find a decent quality download for. I must say, I
got a very diverse set of discs that constantly make rounds on my
current playlist.
Part of the collection, I got on my own, some of them through Fishy.
We kinda have the same taste in music, somewhat I think. And besides,
she gets to drag me around CD shopping most of the time. And then some
of the artists in my music database would be from her altogether.

* * * * *
Here’s what I got so far (in no particular order, artist and albums):
The Ataris – Welcome The Night
David Guetta – One Love
Jamie Cullum – The Pursuit
INXS – Switch
Beyonce – B-Day
Timbaland – Shock Value 2
John Legend – Get Lifted
Lucky Soul – The Great Unwanted
Gossip – Music For Men
Maroon 5 – It Won’t Be Soon Before Long
Fall Out Boy – Believers Never Die Greatest Hits
The Killers – Day and Age
John Legend – Once Again
Saint Etienne – Tales From Turnpike House
Kings of Convenience – Declaration of Dependence
Tiny Magnetic Pets – The Return of the Tiny Magnetic Pets
Reverie Sound Revue – Reverie Sound Revue
Various Artists – Grey’s Anatomy Soundtrack Volume 2
Belle and Sebastian – Fold Your Hands Child, You Walk Like A Peasant
The Duke Spirit – Neptune
Snow Patrol – Up To Now
Boys Like Girls – Boys Like Girls
OneRepublic – Dreaming Out Loud
John Legend – Evolver
Groove Armada – Black Light
Up Dharma Down – Fragmented
Sarah Mclachlan – Closer: The Best of Sarah McLachlan
Giniling Festival – Giniling Festival
We Were Promised Jetpacks – These Four Walls
Whitest Boy Alive – Rules
Linkin Park – Minutes to Midnight
Dido – Safe Trip Home
Keane – Hopes and Fears
Norah Jones – Come Away With Me
Kanye West – 808s and Heartbreak
Robyn – Robyn (2008)
Gnarls Barkley – St. Elsewhere
Bloc Party – Silent Alarm
Justin Timberlake – Futuresex/Lovesounds
Jewel – Spirit
The Pearlfishers – The Young Picknickers
Up Dharma Down – Bipolar
Linkin Park – Hybrid Theory
The Charlatans – You Cross My Path
The Kills – Midnight Boom
New Rhodes – Everybody Loves A Scene
OneRepublic – Waking Up
Au Revoir Simone – Still Night, Still Light
Little Name – How To Swim and Live
Northern Portrait – Criminal Art Lovers
Stars – In Our Bedroom After The War
Radioactive Sago Project – ‘Tangina Mo Andaming Nagugutom Sa Mundo
Fashionista Ka Pa Rin
Various Artists – 2007 Grammy Nominees
The Brand New Heavies – All About The Funk
Lily Allen – Alright, Still
Keane – Under the Iron Sea
The Killers – Sam’s Town
Amy Winehouse – Back to Black
Paolo Nutini – These Streets
Keane – Perfect Symmetry
Chris Brown – Exclusive
Yeah Yeah Yeahs – It’s Blitz
Sara Bareilles – Little Voice
Panic! at the Disco – A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out
Maroon 5 – Call and Response: The Remix Album
The Holloways – So This Is Great Britain?
Kanye West – Graduation
Cobra Starship – Hot Mess
The Housemartins – the Best of the Housemartins
Camera Obscura – Let’s Get Out of This Country
Scissor Sisters – Ta-Dah!
Usher – Here I Stand
Timbaland – Timbaland Presents: Shock Value
Ministry of Sound – Dance Nation 2005
Norah Jones – Feels Like Home
Velvet Indiana – Russian Doll
The Futureheads – This Is Not The World
Sambassadeur – Migration
Eminem – The Eminem Show
Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly. – The Chronicles of a Bohemian Teenager
Chris Brown – Grafitti
The Ting Tings – We Started Nothing
Amy Winehouse – Frank
Jewel – Pieces of You
Metric – Fantasies
The Corrs – Talk On Corners
Ministry of Sound – Clubbers Guide 2007
Fall Out Boy – Folie A Deux
Various Artists – Marigold in the House
Marvin Gaye – Gold
Ministry of Sound – Dance Nation 2006
Lily Allen – It’s Not Me It’s You

* * * * *
Of course the list only shows full albums that I have in my database,
not including any random song that gets thrown into the mix “just
because”. I do have a lot of them downloaded online, one-ofs that
mostly fall under remixes of songs that I already like, or remixes
that really do sound better than the originals.

* * * * *
That’s not a lot. I think. I just wish I would get more. I feel I
could just drown in music all my life. I may not be able to make it,
but I can appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

