i resign

Dear Mr. Star:

I would like to inform you that I am resigning from my position at as for . While I understand that providing at least two weeks’ notice is a standard, I would appreciate you releasing me from employment with the company immediately.

I am very thankful to have been given this opportunity to work with the program, and to be part of pilot team that successfully led to the acquisition of additional business for the company. If not for the support and training that have been accorded to the whole team, me included, I feel that we would not have made it through the bake-off with such positive results.

Nevertheless, the past few weeks have been a struggle for me. I feel that I am increasingly becoming a liability to the company and to the program, by not bringing in the numbers where they seem to matter most. Moreover, given the salary level of my position, I feel that it would only make sense and would be more appropriate that I be released from the company immediately, given that my costs as an employee would barely even match the revenue I generate.

The current situation with my family heightens this even more, my mother battling breast cancer and my father living with Parkinson’s disease and advanced diabetes. The need for me to be there for my parents is ever so important.

Concurrently, I am considering a position with another company as well, a position that would afford me more time with my family and some hint of normalcy, at least in terms of working hours. I also feel that this position would be more related to my prior work experience with my previous program of four years, financial markets related, and would allow me to utilize my FINRA Series 7 and Series 63 licenses before they expire.

The five years I have spent with the company truly has been a rewarding learning experience. I harbor neither resentments nor bad feelings about anyone of my teammates, direct and indirect supervisors, trainers as well as all people from the program who had supported me throughout my stay. I do not take it that they have failed in their goal, but it is just that I might have been looking at a different direction all along. I also feel that I have done my due time of service with the program, we were initially handpicked to make sure that the bake-off was a success and to prepare the program for the peak season at the start of the year. Now that the business has been won and that peak is off, I feel that I have accomplished what I was brought in to do for the program.

This is not me throwing in the towel, or giving in to “conscious incompetence” as one of my trainers had put it. I am choosing a different option, and not giving into “failure of imagination.”

Please let me know if I can be of any assistance during this transition, and I am looking forward to hearing a most affirmative response from you regarding the end date of my employment.

Sincerely,
parangano
*****
Five years, five months, sixteen days.
I have officially tendered my resignation from my company the end of my shift last night. Not to say that this was something that I never put serious thought into, I have been pained by this decision for as long as I can remember since I moved into my new program. And up until the last minute, I had very serious doubts if I was going to go through with it or not.
I gave the letter to my leader the very moment that I gon into the floor, non-chalantly, I didn’t want to cause too much hoopla over my resignation. There were a few teammates who noticed something odd going on, but not until the last minute when my leader announced it in the team meeting at the end of the shift that that would have been my last day, no one really knew. I would have appreciated that he did not tell them anything at all even, in my mind, it wouldn’t really have mattered that much anyway.
Well, the question is why. Why would I leave? I really don’t know. Those reasons that I have put on my resignation letter I think are just a few of the many reasons why I chose to leave, and leave abruptly at that. But to single out just one reason, one ultimate excuse for leaving? Because I can.
Choices and the actual process of making them would be the closest that we are to whomever created human beings in the first place. This is what they call free will.
I don’t believe that there are such things as running out of choices, limited number of choices, or having no choice at all. This is what they call failure of imagination.
When we make our choices, we often fall into guidelines of which choice makes more sense, or which choice would provide the most gain or benefit; and then all other choices or options that don’t measure up to these select few are discountd as being invalid or irrational options that we don’t eveen try to consider them part of the set of options anymore. This is what they call playing safe.
I believe that we are all given the free will in the world not to be limited by the choices that are there by default, those choices that our limited rational minds can conceive as being the only choices in a given situation; but instead, to fully be able to exercise that free will, we must indeed make up our own choices, and trust the universe itself that everything would fall into place. For the first time in my professional life, I chose something that was not handed to me as a part of a limited set, but I created one on my own. I’m sure that not all of the friends I know would agree that it made sense, or it was the right thing to do or choose, but isn’t that the point of the choice anyway? To find out what happens next.
Well, THAT? I don’t know what they would call that. But sure as hell I’d like to find out what other choices that would lead me to create for myself.

Leave a Reply

