kwento lang

hmmm… the art of flirting and romance. and where do i begin? ganito yun: lumabas kami noong isang gabi at naginuman sa isang bar sa timog. medyo nahirapan pa nga ako hanpin yung lugar kasi may kalayuan na yun sa may abs-cbn kaya hindi ganoon ka-“hip” ika nga. pagbaba ko ng tricycle (of course i don’t have a car, at least not yet), lalango-lango ako sa paligid at narinig ko nag tawagin ang pangalan ko ng kasmahan ko sa trabaho. sila ang kasama ko sa gimik noong gabing yun. they were four on the table and three of them i knew from work. my colleagues, j, rr, and mark. and then cindy.
“dude, meet cindy,” mark said. that was not a line but from then on, judging as well from everyone’s body language, i knew that this was going to be a very long night.
tayong mga pinoy ay mahilig at magaling sa kaswalan. casual. nonchalance. indifference, moreover when were amongst our own. we belong to a race that is very nonconfrontational and rarely ever puts ones nose up anybody’s business. (i also know that the opposite tends to be the our attitude when it comes to encountering filipinos in other countries, but that’s another story altogether.)
so that was it. cindy. mark’s current flame. alam mo naman si mark, mahilig maglaro ng apoy. i do know for a fact that he does have a gf, but that point almost became moot once i saw the two of them almost literally eat each other’s head off. (though i may be exagerrating, given that i am currently single and came from a catholic boys school once in my life.)
as the night wore on, our officemate j’s bf bj (ang jowa ni j na si bj) came and then win, our other officemate. (on win: everyone in the team would agree that he and k had the most wonderfully, amazingly perfect relationship. they talk of sojourns and dates the likes of which you might only read off romance novels with the logo of the two hearts. and don’t even get him started on the rose petals, the account of the romantic incident even spread for a while through spam. i’m not sure if it’s still making the rounds but sooner or later, an emotionally challenged, romantically disposed single gal would forward it to you. gush and say: awww..) and so, two more rounds of light beer and pork and tofu, words got thrown and chewed about each other’s “flames”, current that is. rr had his own k whom he was courting (like, ever since i’ve known him, which slightly feels like forever, believe me) and j’s bj, win’s “wifey” k. (and me? of course it would be alright to say that my lovelife is totally irrelevant to this story. basta.) so begins my lesson in flirting 101:
part one: body language. it was clear who had someone and who had none. mark had the “pronounced” edge over the other blokes in the troop, given his age and experience. hisbtechnicall expertise at flirting was nothing short but uncanny, that the other macks in the group just had to think, “paano nagagawa ni mark yun?” his hands were all over cindy (hindi ko nga lang masabi kung comportable pa si cindy nun kasi una, madilim, at pangalawa, hindi ko mabasa sa mukha niya ang discomfort.) mga munting haplos sa braso. mga pakurot-kurot na hindi masakit pero paranng pahiwatig ng panggigigil. paamoy-amoy ng buhok, ng balat, ng kamay, etc. of course, he did not do that one after another, that would have been rape. and it was quite clear to everyone in the group (pwera siguro kay cindy) that mark does have a gf at the moment, and for the lack of a better term, ciny might just be a passing fling, a date for the night, a one night stand which could go on for several sporadic nights in a row (for the minimum of three months). one can tell from the body language alone that mark was definitely into cindy, although it was only skin deep. rr was telling us stories the other day on just how smitten he was with his k. they’re not yet officially together but the way he describes her is simply unique, given rr’s attitude. at ang pinakakakaiba dun, sa isang lalaking kasim-presko ni rr, hindi pa niya nahahawakan ang kamay ni k (nang namamalayan ni ka at hindi tumatakbong papalayo kay rr, mabilis pa sa alas-kwatro). yung kay mark at kay cindy, nung gabing iyon, halata mong hindi talaga ganoon si mark kung sa babae in lang na mahal niya. ang nakapagtataka ay hindi pumapalag si cindy. hinahayaan niya lang si mark na makipag-flirt sa kanya. hindi ako maniniwalang hindi alam ni cindy ang ginagawa ni mark. i mean, she’s definitely not dense. from the way she talks i think this lady has something in her that would be somewhat akin to wit. iba nga si cindy. kakaiba lang kasi parang naiilang pa siya sa grupo. but she tried so hard not to cast herself out, and i definitely must give her credit for that. although i myself felt left out for a few moments or on several conversation strings, but the fact that i have been with these people for a few months makes me somewhat “in” with the group. sensing that this might make us both losers on one standpoint, so we decided to mack. nag-excuse si cindy papunta sa restroom. unconsciously, i got to follow her because i had to go myself and the beer had started to take its toll on my head. the restrooms were okay, except that there was a line on the ladies part and i was up next on the men’s restroom. both shared a common wash area and mirror. isang malaking kawa na ginawang lababo, na ipinares sa isang bilog na malaking salamin. habnag hinintay naming matapos ang kung-sino man na nasa restroom, hindi namin magawang mag-usap. hindi ko alam kung bakit. nakikita ko siya sa salamin at nakikitia rin niya ako. it was really odd because both of us really felt the need to talk or just even say something but neither did. i know i won’t most definitely. mas gugustuhin ko pang matawag na chope kaysa madaldal. it’s definitely better to keep a certain air of mystery when it comes to the ladies.
out of the blue:
cindy: question lang: sa tingin mo okay lang ba kung tawagin kang ‘”dre” ng isang tao?
ako: umm… (chope talaga di ‘ba?) oo naman. okey lang yun. bakit?
cindy: kasi nung tinawag ko si mark kanina ng “‘dre” parang nailang siya.
ako: umm… (gusto ko sanang sabihin: syempre may kasamang libog yun si mark. alangan namang tawagin mo siyang “‘dre” kapag nasa kama na kayo.) ewan ko.
then a few more moments of awkward silence. one. two. three.
cindy: sige. (sabay pasok sa restroom.)
pumasok na din ako sa restroom at inispi ko yung sinabi ni cindy.
umm… iniisip pa ba niya pati yon? o wala lang talaga siyang masabi?
sounds like a cry for help to me, come to think of it.
…itutuloy kung may panahon…

Leave a Reply

